International Symposia on Chemical Reaction Engineering, Inc.

3rd North American Symposium on Chemical Reaction Engineering (NASCRE-3)

Chemical Reaction Engineering for a Sustainable Future: Addressing New Challenges
and Revisiting Persistent Problems in Energy, Environmental, and Chemicals Research

Professor Lanny Schmidt to receive the 2013 Neal R. Amundson Award

Schmidt photoLanny D. Schmidt, Regents Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at The University of Minnesota, has been selected by the ISCRE, Inc. board of directors to receive the 2013 Neal R. Amundson Award. The Amundson Award recognizes a pioneer in the field of Chemical Reaction Engineering who has exerted a major influence on the theory or practice of the field, through originality, creativity, and novelty of concept or application. Professor Schmidt will receive the award at the 3rd North American Symposium on Chemical Reaction Engineering (NASCRE-3) conference, in Houston, TX on March 19, 2013.

Professor Schmidt's research focuses on various aspects of the chemistry and engineering of chemical reactions on solid surfaces.  His recent interests involve mainly renewable energy, especially the conversion of gases, liquids, and solids into syngas and chemicals in autothermal short contact time chemical reactors.  Systems of previous interest are characterization of adsorption and reactions on well-defined single crystal surfaces, steady state and transient reaction kinetics under conditions from ultrahigh vacuum to atmospheric pressure, characterization of small particles and the correlation of catalytic activity with particle microstructure, and catalytic reaction engineering in which detailed models of reactors are constructed to simulate industrial reactor performance.

Professor Schmidt has published over 350 papers in refereed journals.  He has supervised approximately 90 Ph.D. theses and 15 M.S. theses at Minnesota, and 14 of his former students hold university teaching positions. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

The six previous Amundson Award recipients are:

  • 1996 Dr. Neal R. Amundson, University of Houston
  • 1998 Dr. Rutherford Aris, University of Minnesota
  • 2001 Dr. Octave Levenspiel, Oregon State University
  • 2004 Dr Vern Weekman, ExxonMobil
  • 2007 Dr. Gilbert F. Froment, Texas A&M University
  • 2010 Dr. Dan Luss, University of Houston

The Amundson Award is made every 3 years at an International Symposium on Chemical Reaction Engineering (ISCRE) or NASCRE meeting, and consists of a plaque and a check in the amount of $5,000. The Amundson Award is generously supported by a grant from the ExxonMobil Foundation.

A list of past winners is available here.

Back to