In 1996, the ISCRE Board of Directors established the Neal R. Amundson Award for Excellence in Chemical Reaction Engineering.  This award recognizes a pioneer in the field of Chemical Reaction Engineering who has exerted a major influence on the theory or practice of the field, through originality, creativity, and novelty of concept or application. The award is to be made at an ISCRE meeting, and consists of a Plaque and a check in the amount of $5000.00

The first recipient of this award, in 1996, was Dr. Neal R. Amundson, after whom the award was named. Dr Amundson is Cullen Professor of Chemical Engineering and Professor of Mathematics at the University of Houston. A native of St. Paul, Minnesota, <more>

Dr. Rutherford Aris was the second recipient in 1998. Dr. Aris is Regents' Professor Emeritus in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, University of Minnesota.  Dr. Aris was born and educated in England.  His early training was in mathematics, and his early employment was with I.C.I., where  <more>

At NASCRE 1 at Houston, Texas in 2001, Octave Levenspiel became the third recipient of the Amundson Award. Dr. Octave Levenspiel is emeritus professor of chemical engineering at Oregon State University. His primary interest is in chemical reactors, and his teaching, writing and research aim at finding general principles and methods for designing these units. <more> 

All of these men have brought technical excellence and great honor to our profession.

The Amundson Award is generously supported by grants from the ExxonMobil Foundation


 This page updated May 28, 2004